The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People

The author of this book “The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People” is Stephen R. Covey.

I believe habits habit 4 “Think Win-Win”, habit 5 “Seek First to Understand, Then to be Understood” , and habit 7 “Sharpen the Saw” relate to me most because these are very similar to ethics I abide by myself within a working atmosphere. Habit 4, “Think Win-Win” is something I try being fair about in terms of decision making when I am participating in a group with like-minded people it is better we all throw in all our ideas create a great idea,  rather than follow on one individual’s sole idea. Generally when I feel there is an issue among someone else and myself I try to see if it can be solved which is in relation to habit 5 “Seek First to Understand, Then to be Understood”. I feel that I have a very open mind when going into situations that need to be dealt with accordingly because I am not swayed easily away from my own decisions based upon just my feelings, I take into consideration of other around me who may be affected. Furthermore, “Sharpening the Saw” which is Habit 7 in Stephen R. Covey’s book, I feel has most relation to myself because when I feel I am losing my touch in whatever skill I have I would put it to the test and in some sense rekindle it and better it at the same time. I am also always looking for new reading material to better my vocabulary, so I would be able more direct when putting a message across, but you never who you may meet. Expanding on your vocabulary and not only reading will help you better formulate a thought or sentence better, but it will help in terms of communication. I shall apply these habits in my educational career by creating relationships, being understanding, and sharpening that should be conducted on a daily basis. Attending the college and participating in these courses are going to reform my habits day by day as I keep using them. Moreover, there is the workplace atmosphere as well to consider and how my habits will applied. It is really simple the way I myself look at it because my habits generally apply to anywhere you go. I understand there’s a time and place for everything however, these are things that have to be presented if I want to be going forward.  

A little video to show some support to my video:

Excuses the language 😀

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DjhWlOYxzlk

Leave a Reply

